Each year, soon after the release of the National Senior Certificate results, the Province’s Premier hosts a ceremony to recognise those schools and NSC candidates that produced exceptional results. PAT schools were well represented at this ceremony.


Listed below are those schools and learners that achieved recognition for their good or improved performance.

Category: Schools that have shown the greatest percentage increase in Bachelor’s-level passes. (Awards were made to 10 schools)

Manyano High School
Principal: Zola Malgas joined the PAT programme in December 2012
Noorder-Paarl High School
Principal Darryl Mathys joined the PAT programme in January 2016
Ned Doman High School
Principal Gwynne Philander joined the PAT programme in December 2012

Category: Most improved Public Schools with 30 or more NSC candidates in 2016 (Improvement was based on NSC results between 2014 and 2016)
Mfuleni High School
Principal Malungisa Mlotywa joined the programme in January 2015
Lotus High School
Principal Benjamin Petersen joined the programme in January 2016
Sibelius High School
Principal Amien Samodien joined the programme in January 2016

Category: Excellence in isiXhosa Home Language (Awarded to 1 school)
Sinethemba High School
Principal Nelson Poopedi joined the programme in December 2012

Category: Excellence in Information Technology (Awarded to 1 school)
Centre of Science and Technology (COSAT)
Principal Phadiela Cooper joined the PAT programme in December 2013

Candidates from PAT schools who were included in the list of the top 40 candidates in the Western Cape.
Asiphe Bushula (6 distinctions) from Zisukhanyo Secondary School
Benedito Vesta Chimutsanga Nassone (5 distinctions) from Kwamfundo Secondary School
Amanda Esethu Somdaka (5 distinctions) from Sinethemba Secondary School
Shirley Elizabeth Van der Merwe (7 distinctions) Hoërskool Bellville.

Best in Subject
Excellence in Afrikaans HL
Shirley Elizabeth van der Merwe (Hoërskool Bellville)
Excellence in Civil Technology
Robert Henk Aartsma (Hoërskool Bellville)
Excellence in Computer Applications Technology
Alexander Spanellis (Hoërskool Overberg)

  • Share Post